A Sad Update

I am going to post this to my blog because it will reach more people faster.

On Monday 23 June I went off to the KNGF with high hopes. Maira is a great dog but she will not be mine. On Thursday the 26th I was admitted to the UMC-Utrecht neurology unit. The short story is that after all of the time I spent planning I can’t have a dog.

I am totally bummed and depressed and feel like a piece of my world got yanked out of my life. It did. I will move on. For now it is important that I accept and take the time to cry the tears of sadness.

I am thankful for some great docs. I am thankful that I am alive, and that with care I can stay that way. I will say more later. For now I am just trying to enjoy my first complete day home from “the big house” as Jon and I call it.

With much thanks for support,
Gail

About Gail Nicolaysen-Shurtleff

I am an American who is living in The Netherlands. I am a Marriage and Family Therapist with a license to practice in California. Music has been a huge part of my life. Singing is something you can find me doing at any time and anywhere. I have to admit that I try to not sing while out in public though. You can also find me in the kitchen cooking up wonderful things. cooking is something that I have just recently (in the last ten years) discovered that I'm talented at doing, and it is really fun. The best way to know me is to read my blog.
This entry was posted in Her head. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Sad Update

  1. Flora says:

    No!!! I’m so sorry for you. That is an unpleasant surprise. Good luck, and take care

    • Gail Nicolaysen-Shurtleff says:

      Flora,

      Please don’t be sorry. I’d rather do this than have her and be bonded with her and have to give her up.

Leave a Reply

